According to this site, maps.frogsparks.com is among many sites being blocked by the Russian government (technically, the IP address the host resolves to is part of a large block “B-class” of IPs blocked wholesale by Russia – the block is not targeted at MyTrails specifically). This means that for users in Russia, MyTrails Pro can no longer verify its licensing status, and will revert to Free mode even if you have paid.
If you are affected by this, you can use a VPN to allow MyTrails to get around the block. The licensing status must be verified at least once every two months.
MyTrails 2.1.4b2 contains a workaround for this.
This means your GPS signal is noisy, which may be:
- because your GPS module is not very sensitive or misconfigured
- because of the terrain (in thick woods or canyons)
- because it’s stored at the bottom of a backpack or pocket
- because of jamming (intentional or power lines)
Once you’ve excluded the physical causes and have reset your GPS (and rebooted the phone for good measure), if the track is still showing zigzags, you can set up filtering in MyTrails by using the
set kalman filter n hidden option, where n is the approximate nominal speed in m/s, for example 1 for walking, 8 for cycling.
OpenCycleMap is operated by ThunderForest, a paid service. They overlay the message “API KEY REQUIRED” on their maps to encourage users to register with them.
You can create a free account and update the map definition in MyTrails > Maps > tap on the OpenCycleMap entry and edit the map URL, adding
?apikey=123abc at the end of the existing URL, where
123abc should be replaced with your real API Key.
The first part of the URL may also need to be changed from
MyTrails 2.0 is not fully compatible with Android Nougat (7.0), and in the Track Manager I have disabled long-tapping to select a track, so the ability to perform actions on tracks is not longer available.
MyTrails 2.1, a major rewrite of important parts of the app to make it compatible with the latest Android versions, is now available in the beta track. To get the beta release, please opt-in here.
MyTrails mostly works well on Blackberry 10 devices, but because Blackberry doesn’t include the same sets of security certificates that other modern OSes do, it’s not able to connect to my server for things like creating an account or purchasing maps.
- upgrade to the latest Blackberry 10 version (10.3.3)
- install multiCERT and use it to upgrade the certificate database
Here’s a checklist of things you should do to move all your data when you change devices:
- on your old device, make sure MyTrails is connected to your account, so your purchases, if any, will be available on your new device
- make a backup of MyTrails’ state on your old device
- if you have rooted your device, you can use Titanium Backup or a similar tool
- if you have not rooted your device or are not sure what “rooted” means, you can use a tool such as MyBackup (you can install it from MyTrails > Preferences > About) or Helium
- if you can’t make a backup, at least export your waypoints from MyTrails into a GPX, by using the
export global waypoints hidden option
- unless you keep all your recorded tracks in Dropbox, make a copy of your recorded tracks on your computer
- if you have offline maps, you can copy them to your computer as well
- on your new device, install MyTrails (you don’t need to install the MyTrails Pro License application unless you haven’t connected MyTrails to your account in step 1)
- if you made a backup in step 2, restore it on the new device
- make sure MyTrails on the new device is connected to your account
- check that your recorded tracks are still available (if not, copy them from your computer to the new device, and load them into MyTrails)
- make sure your offline maps are still available (if not, first check the location for offline maps in MyTrails > Preferences > Other, then copy them from your computer to that location and restart MyTrails)
- check that your global waypoints are still available (if not, load the exported
global_waypoints.gpx; unfortunately the waypoints will no longer be global, but will remain associated with that track, which you should leave checked)
When MyTrails tries to connect to an account, the server checks whether the device MyTrails is running on has previously been associated with a different account.
This is to try and make it less likely users will create multiple accounts, and to reduce the support burden of having to reconcile accounts when they do.
When it happens to you, MyTrails will display an error message, and in the background, the server will send an email to the address associated with the account previously used on the device.
- If you do receive that email, please log in to maps.frogsparks.com, using the account indicated in the email, and remove the device from the account.
- If you have current subscriptions associated with the account, please email email@example.com with the email addresses of the account that needs to be closed and the account you want the purchases transferred to.
- If you do not receive the email, either the address is no longer current or it belongs to someone else. In that case, please send me a log from the device, and in the email indicate the email address of the account you’re trying to connect to.
MyTrails store the GPX files for tracks you have recorded in
/sdcard/MyTrails/gpx (you can change this in MyTrails > Preferences > Other).
Here are a few methods you can use to transfer track files:
- the most basic method for transferring files is to connect your device to the computer via USB (make sure to set the USB transfer mode to MTP, and on Mac use Google’s Android File Transfer to copy the files over). More info here.
- another method is to use a file manager on Android to copy the files to a physical SD card (if you have one and can plug it into your device) and then read the SD card on the computer
- MyTrails Pro has built-in support for saving tracks to Dropbox (or a track-sharing community such as GPSies); if you also use Dropbox on your computer, the file will magically appear there
- finally, in MyTrails’ Track Manager, you can long-tap a track and use the Share menu to send the file via email or another app that is capable of sharing files
In order to make it easier to manage offline maps, I usually recommend creating separate offline maps for separate geographical areas.
However, this makes it necessary to switch maps when looking at different parts of the map. Unless you chain maps together using the fallback map feature.
Picking a fallback map
Most maps, and particularly offline maps, support setting a fallback map. To do so, tap the name of the map in the Map manager, and then the
Select… button in the
Fallback map section. You can then pick the fallback map, which will be used where the main map does not provide a tile.
Using this system, you can chain maps together:
- set the fallback map for map A to map B
- set the fallback map for map B to map C
- in the main MyTrails view, select map A, and MyTrails will automatically display map B or C in areas not covered by map A.
A, B and C do not need to all be offline maps. in fact, it may be useful to select an online map as the last map in the chain, so that there is always something to display. This is what MyTrails does when you create an offline map and check the
Let MyTrails download missing tiles option.
Create offline map with fallback
To connect MyTrails to your Google account so you can share subscriptions between devices, just open the side navigation menu and tap the Connect button.
Tap the icon in the top-left of the screen to open this menu
In the screen that opens, tap Connect again, choose one of your Google accounts (always the same!) if you have more than one and go through the authorization.
Tap connect, then accept the authorization prompts
In the side navigation menu, the Connect button will be replaced with the email address of your account.
Sometimes, MyTrails needs to refresh the association with your Google account. In that case, open the side navigation menu, tap the email address, and in the next screen, Disconnect, then Connect again.
Tap Disconnect, then Connect again